Chocolate Pie Pops

11a

My post today is going to be as short and sweet as these chocolate pie pops. “Are you in a hurry?,” you might ask, and “yes” will be my answer. My discourse is usually long, I know, but today I have to get in and get out as I have a long, long day ahead of me!

8a

When I saw these miniature pies in the form of lollipops, I was sold, just like that. I keep seeing popsicles and cake pops dime a dozen. But these pie pops were new, at least for me.

1a

I have about a dozen pie dough recipes here, but I had leftover cream cheese pie dough from my mozzarella and tomato hand-held pies. Yes it has lasted me this long!

3a

So, you can make the pie dough a week, a month or even six months ahead, wrap it in cling film and store it in the freezer. Thaw before use and roll it out on a floured surface to about ¼ inch thickness. Cut out round, heart and star shapes (or any shape you desire) using 3 inch cookie cutters.

7a

Spoon about a teaspoon of the chocolate filling on the centres of the pastry cut outs, lay the lollipop sticks on the centre of each cutout and seal with remaining cut outs. Bake for about 15 minutes until the pies are golden and flaky.

4a

Ingredients

  • 1/2 recipe cream cheese pie dough
  • ¼ cup cocoa powder
  • ½ cup icing sugar
  • ¼ cup butter, melted
  • 2 tbsp walnuts, chopped
  • 2 tbsp raisins
  • Milk, to brush
  • Sugar, to sprinkle

Method

  • In a bowl, combine cocoa and icing sugar. Pour melted butter and mix. Set aside.
  • Preheat oven to 200 C. Roll dough on a floured surface to ¼ inch thickness. Cut dough with 3 inch round, heart and star shaped cookie cutters.
  • Spoon 1 level teaspoon of the chocolate filling on top of each cut out. Add chopped walnut and raisin. Brush the edge with milk. Place a lollipop stick on each filled cut out. Top with remaining pastry cutouts. Brush pastries with milk and sprinkle with sugar.
  • Bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on a wire rack..
  • Layer pie pops between sheets of parchment paper in an airtight container and cover. Store at room temperature for 2 days.
Leave a comment

Filed under Chocolate, Pastries, Pies

Leave a Reply

