Peanut butter Oatmeal Cookies

9a

A day ago, my kitchen looked like it was going to burst out of its belongings. And there’s nothing I hate more than a cluttered kitchen. But the paradox here is I love buying things. I keep adding on to my repertoire – pots, pans, glass jars, crockeries, and the list goes on. And don’t get me started on my baking equipment. I have more than extra of almost everything in the baking department. The problem is there’s no space.

8a

Pavan says I can hold a Tupperware sale. And unfortunately he’s right. But as someone who has always believed in excesses when it comes to the kitchen, his mockery of my greed for possessions doesn’t wear me down.  I buy things that I think I can find a good use for; I just have to make space to accommodate them.

2a

But yesterday, something odd happened. Things were starting to disappear magically. First, my palette knife, then my dough scraper. I scrutinized my kitchen like a watchdog and no luck. Everywhere I looked, there was stuff. I didn’t spot a smidgen of empty space. I had had enough. I actually told Pavan, “I’m going to give away things that I don’t use.” There was silence.

1a

Thus my ordeal of decluttering began. Things started to reappear again. Not my palette knife and dough scrapper first. But these lovely glass bowls I almost forgot I had. I don’t even know why I put them away. And then my tidy white porcelain plates; can you imagine how good a piece of chocolate cake would look on it? So, there I was, rediscovering things, as opposed to decluttering. I was creating use for things that were long buried and they begged for some semblance of utility. It was a noble act.

7a

At the end of it, the “give away” side had 2 things. And I can tell you right now, they were very trivial. The “Omg! I found this finally, I have to use it” side had 15 things. Oh and I found my palette knife and dough scrapper too. My nonstick cookie sheet that I had long given up on also reappeared. I was in cloud 9. But I managed to organize my kitchen too! Apparently my bed had more storage beneath it that I didn’t know of.

5a

To celebrate my spritely kitchen (of new additions) and to honour the return of my favourite cookie sheet, I baked these delicious peanut butter oat meal cookies. Is there anything better than the feeling of a cookie crumbling in your mouth? I don’t think so.

3a

Ingredients

  • 100 g (3/4 cup) plain flour
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp baking powder
  • 113 g (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, softened
  • 125 g (1/2 cup) peanut butter
  • ½ cup caster sugar
  • ½ cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup porridge oats

Makes 14 large cookies

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 180 C. Grease a cookie sheet with butter. Set aside.
  • In a bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, salt and baking powder.
  • In another bowl, beat butter until creamy. Add peanut butter and continue to beat. Now, add both the sugars and beat for 3 minutes. Add the egg and beat for a couple of more minutes. Finally, add in the vanilla extract.
  • Combine the dry and wet ingredients. Add the oats.
  • Drop dough with a help of a tablespoon, 2 inches apart, on a cookie sheet. Bake for 15 minutes until brown.
  • Cool on wire rack before consuming.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies

Leave a Reply

