“A Cure for Everything” Chocolate Cake

3a copy-0 This is the first time in six months I’ve taken such a long break from my blog. Blogging rule #1 says never to ignore your ardent followers for too long. I have been absent for a few days, I know and I have a genuine explanation. I was fever bound and stepping into the kitchen was not an option. 5a I thought may be a little baking would help (like it always does) but would you believe me if I said I had no will to bake? The thought of indulging in some form of labour in the kitchen was really menacing to me. But the thought of not being able to reach out to you was even more menacing. I was in a pickle but I knew what the answer was. I needed the rest. I needed to get well. In my flu stricken sabbatical, I realized how much I’ve been ignoring the TV. I caught up on old films and television shows. When that strained my eyes, I made Pavan read Jane Austen to me, which he did like a darling till I fell asleep. 1a-0 While baking has always been therapy for me, I feel wrong indulging in it when I’m not in the right space. I feel like things might turn out bad and more often than not they do. Thanks to the weeklong recovery, I’m back now, feverless, hale and healthy. And can I tell you how much I missed this ranting? 4a-0 I had to use ingredients I had at home considering I haven’t gone grocery shopping in a long time. I also wanted to bake something that would lift my spirits up instantly. So, I baked this devilishly good chocolate cake that I choose to call “Cure for Everything” Chocolate Cake. But I swear it is! Chocolate really is the cure for everything! 7a Ingredients For the cake

  • 125 g (1 cup + 6 tbsp) plain flour
  • 2 heaped tbsp corn flour
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • ½ baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 58 g (1/2 + 2 tbsp) cocoa powder
  • 113 g (1/2 cup) unsalted butter
  • 280 g (1 cup + 6tbsp) caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ + 2 tbsp buttermilk

For the filling

  • 350 g dark chocolate, chopped
  • 1 cup fresh cream
  • ½ cup dulce de leche

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 180 C. Line two 7” round cake tins with parchment paper.
  • In a bowl, sift flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cocoa together. In a separate bowl, beat butter until creamy. Add sugar and beat until creamy and fluffy. Add eggs one by one. Beat further. Incorporate flour and buttermilk in 4 additions alternatively, beginning and ending with flour.
  • Once the batter is ready, pour them equally between the two prepared tins. Bake for 45 minutes. Allow the cakes to cool on a wire rack.
  • Bring the cream to boil in a saucepan. Pour over chopped chocolate. Stir until combined. Cover the bowl with a cling film and allow to sit at temperature.
  • Slice the risen tops off the cakes (to make it leveled). Place the sliced scraps on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Toast the scraps for 1 hour.
  • Once completely dry, blend them into a fine powder in a food processor. Set aside.
  • Gently run a serrated knife and divide cut each cake into 2 layers. You should have 4 layers now.
  • Spread 2 tbsp of dulce over one layer. Top it with ganache and spread it over dulce de leche. Place another layer on top. Repeat with dulce and ganache filling. Place the third layer on top and repeat the process. Cover with 4th Spread the top and the sides of the cake with a thin layer of ganache. Refrigerate the cake for 2 hours.
  • After two hours, spread the cake with the remaining ganache, on top and sides. Gently place the prepared crumbs on the freshly frosted cake, on top and sides.
  • The cake can be left at room temperature if going to be served on the same day. Otherwise refrigerate and leave at room temperature 2-3 hours prior to serving.

Adapted from Tartine by Elisabeth M.Prueitt and Chad Robertson

2 Comments

Filed under Cakes, Chocolate

2 responses to ““A Cure for Everything” Chocolate Cake

  1. Michelle

    Hello, what’s dulce de leche? And is it available in the amrket or something one makes?

    • Hi Michelle, dulce is a South American custard-sauce made with milk and sugar. Yes, it is readily available in grocery stores. I will shortly be posting a recipe for dulce..

Leave a Reply

