Crispy Cocoa Cookies with Dulce de Leche Drizzle

20140725-131411-47651288.jpg

Because I’m a baker, you might think that my kitchen is always stacked with goodies. On some days yes and on some days no.  I also make things that don’t necessarily have a long shelf life and let’s be honest, a girl can only eat so much cake (yes, even for a sweet addict like me)!

4a

So, friends and acquaintances often ask me what I do with all the things I bake wearing an extremely curious expression, which essentially means “you are not seriously consuming all that stuff by yourself.” The answer is yes and no. I love feeding people, I love getting feedback and I love being complimented even more. On most days I feel excessively generous and I ask Pavan to take the stuff to work. I feel happy when the box returns empty.


20140725-130056-46856409.jpg

 

5a

 

And there are days of gluttony when things get polished off between the two of us without a modicum of guilt. I must’ve done some good in my life, I’ve married a man who doesn’t guilt over his food. He is eat all you want today and exercise tomorrow kind of guy. The thing is, I don’t know if I could’ve lived with someone who ate because it’s a necessity. Cooking and eating run in every fibre of my being and I do live to eat and I’m glad that Pavan gets that about me.

20140725-130054-46854530.jpg

There are many lazy Sunday afternoons when both of us are sprawled out in our living room after a delicious lunch. We are either watching a food show on TV or talking about where we want to travel and what we want to eat or we are doing both at the same time. And just like that, both of us unanimously have a very simple epiphany – life is about eating delicious things and seeing beautiful places. Somewhere between all that talking and realizing, we get hungry again.

20140725-130058-46858616.jpg

So on days that I don’t want to alter my perfectly lazy Sunday, I can’t afford to run out of delicious things to eat. I need to have something ready, something as good as freshly baked. And hence I made these delicious cocoa cookies drizzled with dulce de leche. There is every bit of goodness in there and they keep for at least a couple of weeks in an airtight box (if you drizzle dulce de leche just before eating them).

20140725-130101-46861375.jpg

Ingredients

  • 170 g (3/4 cup) unsalted butter, softened
  • 200 g (1 cup) caster sugar
  • 80 g (3/4 cup) cocoa powder, sifted
  • Pinch of salt
  • 163 g (1 ¼ cup) plain flour
  • 1 egg
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • Dulce de leche, to drizzle

Makes 24 cookies

Method

  • In a bowl, combine flour, cocoa and salt. Beat butter until creamy. Incorporate sugar and beat for a few minutes. Add the egg and continue beating. Finally, add the vanilla extract and beat further to combine.
  • Incorporate the flour into the butter mixture in 2 halves. Fold to combine.
  • Tip the cookie dough on a well laid out cling film. Bring the dough together and form a sausage-like log (see pic).
  • Wrap with cling film and freeze for an hour (or up to several days).
  • Preheat the oven to 180 C. Remove the cookie log from the freezer and cut it into ½ inch thick slices. Lay them on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake them for 15 minutes.
  • Allow the cookies to cool on a wire rack. Drizzle dulce de leche over them using a spoon or a fork.
Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies

Leave a Reply

