Whole Grain Burger Buns (with Patties)

1a

Another week has gone by. It feels like just yesterday that I planned the recipes for this month and now I’m in the verge of putting together recipes for July. Every second swooshes past me at the speed of lightning, which is a good and a bad thing.

5a

I look at my blog and see how far I’ve come but I see that it’s been a year and a half and I wonder where my blog is going, I think of a hundred thousand ways in which my blog can be better and all the things I’ve been procrastinating in terms of improvising my blog and I begin to freak out. Of course, the freaking out part happens more than the feeling happy part; it’s a personality thing, really.

8a

I’m not much of a burger person. That’s also because I’m not sure there are many places in India that serve burgers like they are meant to be. I say this because my notion of a good burger completely changed after eating one at this place called Sakley’s in Gurgaon. Juicy burger with fat potato wedges on the side, along with thick chocolate caramel milkshake – you have to be supremely hungry to finish all of it by yourself.

9a

The reason why I’m not big on burgers is because they fill me up superficially after a few bites and later, I tend to feel hungry again. However, there are these peculiar days when for some reason I’d crave a good burger. Does that ever happen to you? Yearning for something on an odd day even though you are not particularly a great fan? I wonder if the phenomenon is called something in the psychological world.

3a

Anyway, I experienced one such day last week and the quest for burger bun recipes began. I wanted to make burger buns that are light without taking away the “generous” factor of course. That’s what makes a burger really, its generous size of voluptuous buns, meaty patty and unctuous sauces on the side; okay, throw in the fries too.

2a

I’ve never worked with spelt flour before. So, when I came across this recipe for burger buns I was skeptical.  However, I stand corrected today; whole grain flours are equally great for making breads. Your bread is indisputably light, the texture is lovely and the nutty flavour of spelt and whole wheat flours combined is par delicious. Healthy things can be delicious too and I’ve got a little bonus for you – I’ve included a yummy albeit healthy patty recipe as well. Burger is going to be a regular affair in my kitchen henceforth and try the recipe, you will say the same thing.

7a

Ingredients

For burger buns

  • 1 cup (250 ml) lukewarm water
  • 2 ¼ tsp active dry yeast
  • 2 tbsp malt extract
  • 210 g (1 ½ cups) spelt flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill Organic Spelt Flour)
  • 180 g (1 ½ cups) wheat flour
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil

Makes 6 medium sized buns

For patties

  • 2 potatoes, boiled and mashed
  • 8 button mushrooms, cleaned and chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • Salt to taste
  • 4 tbsp white wine, optional
  • 1 cup porridge oats
  • Olive oil, to cook

Makes 6 patties

Method

  • In a large bowl, combine water, yeast and malt extract. Set aside.
  • In another bowl, whisk together both flours and salt. Pour the yeast mixture into the flour and mix them together until combined.
  • Tip the dough on a floured work surface and knead it for 10 minutes. Make a ball out of the dough and place it in an oiled bowl. Cover the bowl with cling film and let it prove for 1 ½ hours.
  • For the patties, in a pan, add 1 tbsp of oil. Add the chopped onions. Sautee till they become translucent. Add the mushrooms. Allow the vegetables to cook till they become tender. Add salt and smoked paprika. Finally add the white wine and combine. Take the pan off heat. Add the mixture to the mashed potato. Add the oats and mix well. Form 6 patties. On the same pan, add some oil. Place the patties and cook them for 5 minutes, until lightly brown on each side. Set aside the patties.
  • Once the dough has doubled in volume, gently deflate it. Divide it into 6 equal portions. Using your palm, gently roll each piece of dough into a ball. Place the buns on a baking tray and cover with a tea towel. Let them rest for another 30 minutes. Preheat the oven to 200 C.
  • After 30 minutes, bake the buns for 15 minutes in the preheated oven. Once done, cool them on a wire rack. Now, place the patties on a baking tray and bake them for 30 minutes until firm.
  • To assemble, slice a cooled bun in half. Place a patty on the bottom half. Add whatever vegetables, cheese or other condiments you’d like to add. Cover it with the top half. Your burger is ready to be consumed.

Burger bun recipe: Whole Grain Vegan Baking by Celine Steen and Tamasin Noyes

Patty recipe: The Naked Kitchen Veggie Burger Book by Sarah Davies and Kristy Taylor

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Breads, Healthy baking

Leave a Reply

