Chocolate Chip and Cherry Surprise Cookies (Eggless)

2a

As a baker, I have to evolve, learn and unlearn techniques (I don’t mean to sound all corporate), you know what I mean. For that, I realize I have to first start trying out new ingredients uninhibitedly.

Eleanor Ozich’s little girl developed a condition called Gut and Psychology Syndrome which resulted in eczema and mood fluctuations. That was Ozich’s clue to adopt simple and clean eating and thus was born http://www.petite-kitchen.com/ If you look at the kind of stuff she’s been able to produce with gluten-free alternatives, you will be amazed, just like me; glance through her autumn cake of hazelnut, orange and fennel seeds to get an idea.

5a

All the way up in Canada there’s http://www.thefirstmess.com/ ‘s Laura Wright. She claims she’s learnt more about cooking and food as a vegetable gardener than all of her culinary school and restaurant endeavours, combined.  I just loved her gluten free and vegan chocolate hazelnut grahams. And then there’s my favourite, Aran Goyoaga, allergic to gluten, she began http://www.cannellevanille.com/ where she puts up some delicious stuff; I’d kill for her beetroot tarte tatin.

7a

My point is, while people are doing some fabulous things, creating cakes and cookies out of thin air, I can’t afford to be stuck up about my ingredients. So I have begun to use egg substitutes wherever I can as you may have already noticed. Now, I have toyed with the idea of using margarine to check if it produces the same results as butter – yes me the obsequious butter loyalist.

4a

In this case of chocolate and cherry surprise cookies, margarine did wonders I have to confess. They kind of reminded of those bakery biscuits that I was ever so fond of as a child. I don’t feel guilty of cheating on butter, my allegiance is still intact but you’d still never catch me using margarine to ice my cakes, never!

3a

Ingredients

  • 260 g (2 cups) plain flour
  • 200 g (1 cup) caster sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 113 g (½ cup) margarine
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • ¼ cup chocolate chips
  • ¼ cup glace cherries, chopped
  • 4 tbsp icing sugar 

Makes 12 big cookies

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 180 C. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  • Combine flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.
  • Cream margarine and sugar until light fluffy. Add vanilla and beat further.
  • Add the dry ingredients to wet in two additions until you obtain a cookie dough consistency.
  • Pull the dough together and place on your work surface.
  • Make a small lemon sized ball out of the dough and flatten it out on your work surface. Add a teaspoon of chocolate chips and cherry over the flattened dough (see pic above). Bring the edges together to seal the filling. s Flatten the cookie again. Roll the cookie over icing sugar. Place the cookie sealed side down on the prepared sheet. Repeat with the remaining dough.
  • Bake in the oven for 30 minutes until the tops have slightly cracked and the cookies are lightly brown.

 Adapted from 100 best Vegan Recipes by Kris Holechek

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Cookies

5 responses to “Chocolate Chip and Cherry Surprise Cookies (Eggless)

  1. fadingpoetic

    Your blog is so wonderful — definitely one of the best baking/writing blogs I’ve seen! I love your recipes (and I think it’s great you’re giving non-conventional ones like eggless cookies too!). So, we nominated you for a Liebster Award! Check out your questions, and please post more recipes soon! Omnomnom.

  2. Hi fadingpoetic, thank you so much for stopping by my blog and your encouraging words! What is a Liebster Award? And where do I look for these questions?

  3. fadingpoetic

    The Liebster Award (as far as I’m aware — I only found out about it the other day!) is this big, blogging tag that’s popped up on WordPress lately. It’s essentially a way for bloggers to find new and small blogs, as well as appreciate/reward ones they think are awesome. If you scroll to the bottom of the post I’m about to link, you’ll find instructions and questions for you to answer — only if you want to, of course! http://fadingpoetic.wordpress.com/2014/05/26/the-power-of-rewards-bonuses-all-that-good-stuff/

  4. Hi, I’ve been pouring over your blog for two days now and everything looks so amazing and you make it look almost effortless! So I decided to try the Chocolate Chip and Cherry Surprise Cookies and they all melted to an incongruous yet delicious mass within 15 minutes of being popped into the oven. What did I do wrong? I’ve followed your recipe exactly barring two changes : I wanted to bake 18 cookies so I increased all the ingredients by half, and since I was out of margarine, I used butter instead and in the same quantity. Do help, I dont want to give up on this!

    • Raveena.. Did you use same quantity of butter? As in, did you double the butter quantity? That seems to be the only possible reason why your cookies might’ve melted off in the oven.. What was your dough consistency like?

Leave a Reply

