Literary Lashings: Hagrid’s Questionable Rock Cakes

4a

I’ve been caught in a Harry Potter storm yet again. When you begin to bury yourself in those pages, it’s very hard to snap out of it and the next thing you know, you’ve read all the 7 books five times  and I know that’s nothing compared to some dyed in the wool Harry Potter fans.

3a

I don’t take part in “LOTR is better than Harry Potter” conversations anymore because I think it’s stupid to compare the two. I know I am pissing off many diehard fantasy admirers at this point but I just found the books utterly refreshing and addictive; I’ve even had people tell me that I should refine my taste for literature but hey, I am not a literary snob.

Now, enough about me not being uppity about my books! What I really want to talk about is how I’ve been re-reading Harry Potter and how the world of Gringotts and goblins and potions and transfiguration and Pensieve and Felix Felicis never tires me; how I’ve always wanted to dine at the Great Hall under the bewitched ceiling of glistening stars and floating candles, with myriad platters of delicious food in front of me.

2a

Ah the food! Where do I begin? Picking out something for Literary Lashings from Harry Potter was rather difficult. From the quintessentially English trifle pudding, treacle tarts and crumpets to the more magical cauldron cakes, liquorice wands and chocolate frogs, there are just too many delicious things that one can try recreating.

But I just let my curiosity wander a little bit and gave a shot at something precarious, something that has always had an infamous reputation in the books: Hagrid’s Rock Cakes. They are so undisputedly unappetizing in the books – shapeless lumps with raisins that almost broke their teeth. Perhaps Hagrid’s version was, like his jaw clinching treacle fudge and alleged beef casserole.

1a

So I wanted to see for myself what rock cakes are really like because it is Britain’s favourite tea time treat. Mine have got a mixture of dried fruit in them but traditional rock cakes supposedly have raisins and candied orange peel. To cut to the chase, were my rock cakes delicious? Yes they were. But what would I give to taste Hagrid’s unappealing version? Just anything.

image_7

Ingredients

  • 225 g ( 1 ½ cups + 2tbsp) self-rising flour
  • 100 g (less than ½ cup) butter, softened
  • 50 g (1/4 cup) caster sugar
  • 2 leveled tsp baking powder
  • 100 g dried fruit (I used dried cranberry and black raisins)
  • 50 g currants
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tbsp milk

Makes 12 cakes

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 200 C. Brush a baking tray with butter and set aside.
  • In a bowl, whisk together flour and baking powder. Add the butter and rub the flour and butter together until you obtain sand-like texture. Add sugar, dried fruit and currants.
  • Whisk egg and milk together. Add to the fruit mixture and combine till you get a cookie dough consistency. If it’s too hard, add some more milk.
  • Make a rough ball by clenching the dough together with your fist (see the pic).
  • Bake in the oven for 30 minutes or until brown.
Leave a comment

Filed under English Tea Time, Literary Lashings

Leave a Reply

