Smarty Pants Chocolate Fudge

1b

I know I lash out chocolate recipes at least twice a month. I am not a diehard chocolate fan like some people. I know folks who’ll eat anything made out of chocolate.  I indulge in a chocolate dessert only if it’s really, really good.

Even as a child, I preferred my birthday cakes to be vanilla or strawberry based rather than chocolate. Having said that, I do have a few exceptions – “that really tiny chocolate cake” from Sandy’s, Madras, the chocolate biscuits that were sold in my school canteen and the wicked chocolate burfi my childhood friend’s mom would make any time we had a school excursion or a pajama party.

1c

The chocolate biscuits were sold at 1 Rs when we were in school. We would stand in a crazy, rabid queue to get our hands on those biscuits. I know girls who would sweet talk their way with the helpers in the canteen to put aside a few biscuits for them. If you didn’t go early enough, you didn’t get biscuits. Twelve years later, when I went to school to invite some teachers for my wedding, my friends and I wanted to try our luck, but yet again, we were too late. The chocolate biscuits were sold out. Some things don’t change.

And then the sinful chocolate burfi that my friend would bring in a neatly sealed airtight container – generous squares of chocolate with multi coloured “gems” stuck on them would be rationed to some six of us after lunch. After boring morning classes, the burfi really made our day; we even became extra giggly and slightly crazy in the afternoon.

1a

The beauty with things like chocolate burfi lies in the fact that they are so unassuming. I don’t really have the recipe with me but I am sure there are not more than 4 ingredients that go into making the burfi. My smarty pants chocolate fudge is somewhat inspired by the chocolate burfi I used to dote on as a child.

Ingredients

Makes 12 large squares

Method

  • Add chocolate, condensed milk and butter in a bowl. Place it over a saucepan of simmering water and allow it to melt.
  • Once melted, add the m&m’s to it. Reserve a few to garnish later.
  • Line an 8X8 inch square tin with aluminium foil. Pour the chocolate into the tin. Level it with an offset spatula. Stud the reserved m & m’s on top.
  • Refrigerate at room temperature for 4-5 hours.
  • Let it sit at room temperature for 15 minutes and then lift the fudge gently off the pan. Cut 3-4 inch squares and store in aright container, in the refrigerator.
3 Comments

Filed under Chocolate

3 responses to “Smarty Pants Chocolate Fudge

  1. These look soo moist and fudgy!

  2. Anjana

    yo where to get good cooking choc in the madras? I wants to make. But I going to puts Gemmmsssss buahahahha. So excited. And no oven!!!!!!
    😀

Leave a Reply

