Mother’s Day Special: Eggless Vanilla Bean Cupcakes with Strawberry Jam Buttercream Frosting

1f

My mother is here with me for a good 15 days. Life is more beautiful with her around but the thought of her going back already saddens me.

I never understood what folks meant when they said distance brings people closer. I have never been a proponent of distance; I used to be this out of sight, out of mind kind of girl. But now I get it, I’ve never missed my mother quite so gravely, ever.

1g

Like most mothers and daughters, ours was a relationship defined by squabbles, yelling and more yelling. Well most of the yelling was done by me. I would cringe at the thought of her interfering in any of my doings. I would complain and whine about the food she made. I would rather go shopping alone than take her with me. Nothing she did for me was ever enough.

Now I seek her opinion on almost everything. Her interfering in my affairs gives me clarity. I long for the food she makes, the ones that I used to frown at. I wish every day was mother-daughter day. Just having her around is comforting, I somehow feel like everything is going to be alright.

1a

I think they are the only souls in this world who give and give without seeking anything in return. For the kind of selfless people mothers are, I don’t think “thank you” quite cuts it. However, considering I’ve never really overtly expressed my gratitude towards everything my mother has done for me, I think a thank you is in order, even if it’s not enough.

Thank you mom, for being the best mother in the world. Happy Birthday and Happy Mother’s Day to you!

1b

Ps: I normally don’t indulge in anything that is eggless. I am quite skeptical about the outcome but I tried my hand at eggless cupcakes this time because my mother prefers her cakes to be eggless. I must confess that they were quite a surprise. They were light to the touch, soft and spongy.

Ingredients

For cupcakes

  • 125 g ( 1 1/2 cups) plain flour
  • ¾ tsp baking powder
  • ¾ tsp baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 60 g (1/4 cup) unsalted butter
  • 200 ml condensed milk
  • 100 ml club soda
  • ½ tsp pure vanilla extract

For strawberry jam buttercream frosting

  • 240 g (2 cups) icing sugar, sifted
  • 113 g (1/2 cup) unsalted butter
  • 2 tbsp strawberry jam

Makes 12 cupcakes

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 180 C. Line a muffin pan with 12 muffin wrappers.
  • Sift flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a bowl. Set aside.
  • Beat butter and sugar until creamy and fluffy. Add the condensed milk and beat further. Now, add the club soda and beat again. Finally, add the vanilla extract and beat again.
  • Fold in the flour little by little until all of it is incorporated.
  • Pour a ladle of batter into each muffin cup and bake for 20 minutes until brown and risen.
  • Allow the cupcakes to cool on a wire rack.
  • For the buttercream, beat the butter till soft and creamy. Add the sifted icing sugar and beat on low speed for 4 minutes. Add the jam and beat for 2 more minutes.
  • Fit a preferred piping nozzle into a piping bag. Pipe the buttercream on the cooled cupcakes.
  • Place the cupcakes in an airtight box and refrigerate. Leave them out for 30 minutes before serving.
15 Comments

Filed under Cupcakes, Eggless

15 responses to “Mother’s Day Special: Eggless Vanilla Bean Cupcakes with Strawberry Jam Buttercream Frosting

  1. Priya

    this is fabulous!! can all the beating be done without an electric beater too? for the frosting as well as the batter? thanks so much!

  2. anjana

    Awwww. ♥♥♥ happy birthday aunty!!! What a warmingly yummy post. 😀

  3. pradeepa

    What is club soda. Is there a substitute for club soda. Similarly can I use milk instead of condensed milk

  4. Love the idea of strawberry jam in frosting. You have some fab stuff on your blog. Well done. 🙂

  5. Tanaya

    Just tried these! They taste wonderful!!! 🙂

  6. chitra nair

    Looks and sounds yum! Just had a foubt though, is it okay to substitute the butter with oil in your cupcake recipes? And if yes, what should the measurements be like?

    Thanks a bunch!

Leave a Reply

