Doughmydear, Happy Birthday!

4

As a child, I was a wanderer. I wanted to be a dancer and I forced my mother to enroll me for dance classes. A few days went by, I started missing classes and then I stopped going altogether. Soon, someone told me that I have a great voice and that I should do something about it. I started taking singing lessons and just to prove a point to my mother I lasted a few good days but that eventually came to an end too.

2

After watching too many videos of Freddie Mercury playing the piano, I had this incredible urge to let my fingers dance on a piano but that never happened. And then it was sketchbooks and paintbrushes, I drew and painted like the earth was soon going to be doomed by an impending apocalypse. I somehow managed to phase out art too.

image_1.jpeg

1

I don’t want to give you the wrong picture here; but at the risk of sounding frighteningly boastful, I was more than decent at all of those things, but I just got bored very easily, that or I think I might have had an acute case of ADD. I would wake up one day, freaking out about how I will dilly dally away the rest of my life aimlessly.

5

My point is, I was a wanderer and not much has changed now, (I still envision myself winning an Oscar after watching the show every single year) except, I found writing, and baking found me, thank god for small mercies, I’ve managed to stick by them both, I must really love them.

Exactly one year ago, I decided to start a baking blog where I could write about anything I wanted and share with the world my unadulterated love for creating miracles in the oven. Some people thought I had gone a little wonky and it was a post-marital consequence, you know, in a “oh she got married, now she wants to start a food blog because she has nothing better to do” sort of way and I didn’t really blame them. I have had several sleepless nights wondering where I am going with this blog.

7

Exactly a year later, today, I can’t help but wonder why I didn’t think of creating this blog earlier. It allows me to do two things I am extremely passionate about, without reservations, in my own time and space and I never really get tired of it. So, may be, this blog is my calling, may be it always has been. For keeping me sane through difficult days, helping me stay focused and disciplined and more importantly for making me so passionate and happy, thank you Doughmydear, I wish you a Happy Birthday with this uber delicious lemon curd cake with white chocolate buttercream frosting.

In my journey as a baker/blogger, one of the few blogs that has blown my mind away is sprinklebakes.com. I simply look at her blog for inspiration and sometimes, happiness. The design part of this cake is in some way an adaptation of her Raspberry-Champagne Layer cake. Thank you Heather, for such a beautiful blog.

Ps: I don’t mean for this post to become a thank you speech but I think I should really thank my husband for being involved in my blog as much as me. Pavan Acharya, thank you for being such a darling, for putting up with me on my baking-disaster days and for everything else; I love you.

10

Lemon Curd Cake with White Chocolate Buttercream Icing

For the cake

  • 390 g (3 cups) all-purpose flour
  • 226 g (1 cup) unsalted butter
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1.5 tbsp lemon zest
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 300 g (1.5 cups) sugar
  • 2 eggs + 3 yolks
  • 250 ml (1 cup) low fat buttermilk
  • 4 tbsp lemon curd

 

For frosting

  • 200 g white chocolate, chopped
  • 250 g unsalted butter, softened
  • 300 g icing sugar, sifted

Method

  • Butter and line two 9 inch or three 7 inch round cake tins. Set aside.
  • Preheat the oven to 180 C.
  • Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and lemon zest in a bowl.
  • Using an electric beater, beat the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy. Add the eggs and the yolk, one at a time. Beat for a few more minutes. Now, add the lemon juice and continue to beat.
  • Now, with the beater at medium low speed, alternate between flour and butter milk, beginning and ending with flour. Beat till all the ingredients are incorporated well.
  • Divide the batter between the prepared tins equally. Bake for 40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  • Cool the cakes thoroughly on a wire rack.
  • For the frosting, melt the chopped white chocolate in a bowl set over a saucepan of simmering water. Allow to cool.
  • Beat butter and sifted icing sugar until smooth and creamy. Add the melted white chocolate and beat for a couple of more minutes.
  • Spread some frosting over a cake board. Place the first layer of cake over it. Spoon two tablespoons of lemon curd and spread it over the cake. Place the next layer on top and repeat the same.
  • Crumb coat the top and the sides of the cake with the prepared frosting using an offset spatula. Place the cake in the refrigerator for an hour.
  • Remove the cake and apply a final layer of the frosting to the cake.
  • Bring cake to room temperature before serving.
Leave a comment

Filed under Cakes

Leave a Reply

