No-bake Jackfruit Cheesecake Bites

1a copy

Disclaimer: The world is divided into two sets of people, those who love jackfruit and those who hate jackfruit. There are no in-betweens when it comes to this opium of a fruit! If you hate jackfruit this recipe is not for you!

image I was this kid who loved to have fruit salad with vanilla ice cream. A medley of fruits would be generously topped over a scoop or two of vanilla ice cream and sometimes my mother would put a few cubes of jelly on it and that was the typical Sunday, post-lunch dessert at home. Not much has changed now – I still love incorporating fruits into my desserts; give me a bowl of vanilla ice cream with freshly cut mangoes, I am the happiest person in the world.

image_1 I just like the natural sweetness from fruits, the tropical kind especially. And for someone who never fails to order a slice of cheesecake whenever she’s out to eat, I realized that I had nothing on the cheesecake department in my blog. It is a blasphemy, I know, but I also know that it’s never too late. I love the New York style, plain baked cheesecake, sure, but I love the fruity kind more. The first time I had blueberry cheesecake, I had an ecstatic seizure. So, a fruit-flavoured cheesecake was to be made and that was that. 1c What fruit to use now? People always overdo the mangoes and bananas when it comes to cheesecakes and it is after all the season for mangoes and just when I almost went to the fruit market to pick up mangoes, a gargantuan piece of porcupine-skinned fruit caught my attention. image_5 I almost forgot how crazy I was about Jackfruit.  It was this exotic fruit whose aroma never failed to beguile my olfactory nerve and the next thing you know, I would be done with about 12 pieces. So I decided to pay homage to the almost forgotten fruit in the form of a no-bake cheesecake; a decision that tasted bloody good indeed. 1d Note: Yesterday’s post on homemade cream cheese was a super-duper hit. Thank you for the stellar response. As you can see, I used my homemade cream cheese to make these no-bake cheesecake bites and they turned out fabulously well. So don’t let skepticism hold you back when it comes to making cream cheese at home, the recipe works like a charm!

Ingredients

For the base

  • 120 g (15 nos)digestive biscuits
  • 70 g (5 tbsp) salted butter (you could use unsalted if you want to)

For the cheesecake filling

  • 250 g cream cheese
  • 150 ml heavy whipping cream, whipped to soft peaks
  • 1 cup jackfruit pulp, pureed out of 15 pieces of jackfruit
  • 30 g caster sugar
  • 2 tsp gelatin powder (vegetarians can use 1 tsp of agar-agar)
  • 2 tbsp hot water

To garnish 4-5 jackfruit pieces cut into small pieces Makes 14-15 cheesecake bites Method

  • Line a muffin pan with cupcake wrappers. Set aside.
  • Blend the digestive biscuits into a fine powder in a food processor. Melt the butter in a saucepan.
  • Combine the butter and the blended biscuits. The consistency is right when you are able to hold the mixture together.
  • Spoon a tablespoon full of the biscuit mixture into the lined wrappers. Using the backside of the spoon, press the mixture tightly so that it remains flat. Repeat for all wrappers.
  • Place the muffin pan in the refrigerator to chill.
  • Dissolve the gelatin into tbsp of hot water (do the same if you are using agar agar.
  • In a separate bowl, using an electric beater beat the cream cheese until soft. Add the sugar and beat further. Add the jackfruit pulp into this mixture and continue to beat.
  • Add the cooled gelatin mixture and beat again.
  • Finally, fold in the whipped cream into the cream cheese mixture and mix well.
  • Take the muffin pan out from the refrigerator and pour a ladle full of the filling into each wrapper.
  • Garnish with finely diced jackfruit pieces on top. Refrigerate overnight or until set.
5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “No-bake Jackfruit Cheesecake Bites

  1. Yes i agree, you either like jackfruit or hate it! It is that kind of fruit!! I like jackfruit a lot and this cheesecake is a must try for me now 🙂 Sinfully delicious.

  2. seena

    I made this cheesecake and it turned out good. But I didn’t like the flavour of gelatin. Any particular brand to use? I just picked from local store. Any alternate to use that doesn’t smell so much?

    • Hi Seena, yes, I don’t like the gelatin smell too. The only solution is to cook out the gelatin completely till the smell goes. I add a couple of tablespoons of water to the gelatin, let it sit for a bit. I then gently melt it in bowl set over a saucepan of simmering water (double boiler). Keep stirring continously for 2 minutes. The smell should go.

Leave a Reply

