Roasted-Almond Thumbprint Cookies

1

What goes on in the mind of a food blogger? A question I’ve always wanted an answer to. I religiously follow some amazing food bloggers, listen to what they have to say and get inspired day after day.

image(1)

Sometimes, when I wake up not knowing what’s going to be my breakfast, I skim through blogs and just like that, 30 minutes later, I have a plate stacked with golden brown pancakes on my table. The word amazing doesn’t quite cut it.

Of course, there’s lunch and dinner too; there are about a few hundred tried and tested recipes of chana (chickpea) masala on the net, all carefully experimented by food bloggers and posted in detail for people like you and me.

2

And then there’s the other lot, who create recipes, whose pictures look like edible artworks that give you goose bumps and a complex at the same time.

So what goes on in the mind of a food blogger? How do they decide that today is cupcake day and the day after is something more exotic, a matcha green tea madeleine perhaps? As for me, I don’t have a definitive formula. I need the hits, I need all the support I can muster from fellow bloggers and foodies, sure I do, but I don’t let that determine my choice of recipes for my blog.

image_3

3It’s the love at first sight when I look at photographs of food, it’s the pinker than pink strawberries piled up in heaps at the fruit market, it’s the chill in the air, the rain, the scorching sun and most of all, it’s my instinct, which is like an invisible fairy godmother, constantly telling me what to make and what not to make.

image_6

So this time it was these roasted almond thumbprint cookies from the Bon Appétit magazine. I looked at them and I couldn’t stop thinking about them. I dreamt about making them, plopping tiny dollops of jam in them and more importantly, consuming them gluttonously.

And then I wanted to share the recipe with you, because my dear readers, this blog is after all about sharing experiences. So I really don’t know what it is that goes on in the mind of a food blogger, but I do know that there is no such a thing as a selfish food blogger; they have a big, big heart, they want to keep you informed, wallow in your feedback and thrive in your encouragement, just like me.

More power to food bloggers!

image_2(1)

Ingredients

  • 95 g (3/4 cup) plain flour
  • 110 g (3/4 cup) almonds, roasted (I left the skin on)
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 113 g unsalted butter (1/2 cup), at room temperature
  • 60 g (1/4 cup) caster sugar
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • ½ egg, beaten
  • 60 g (1/4 cup) raw/plain sugar
  • Jams and fillings of your choice (I used lemon curd, Nutella and apricot jam)

Method

  • Preheat oven to 200 C. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  • In a food processor/ blender, grind flour, almonds, baking powder and salt together until fine.
  • In a separate bowl, beat butter and sugar until pale and creamy. Add egg and vanilla extract. Beat further.
  • Add flour to the butter mixture. Fold until combined.
  • Add the plain sugar in a shallow bowl.
  • Take a tablespoon full of the cookie dough and make a ball out of it. Drop it in the bowl of sugar and roll it over so the sugar sticks all over. Place on the prepared sheet.
  • Repeat for the rest of the dough. When done, press the center of each cookie ball with your thumb.
  • Bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes or until brown and crisp.
  • Allow the cookies to cool on a wire rack. With a small spoon, add a tiny blob of jams or filling in the thumbprint area of each cookie.

Recipe courtesy: Bon Appétit Magazine, December 2013 issue

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies

Leave a Reply

