DIY Thursdays: Peanut Butter

1

 

I discovered peanut butter very late in my life, but once I did, there was no looking back – watching all those American sitcoms had to pay off in some way or the other. If I had nothing else to eat and I had sweet craving, I would dig into a jar of peanut butter and wouldn’t stop till I felt physically sick.

It’s one of those versatile accompaniments that everyone should keep in their cupboard. For the longest time, I was under the assumption that peanut butter had some amount of butter in it. I read a health article sometime back (yes, I do that too) that there is in fact no butter and that it is very nutritious.

2

Thanks to people like Emma Christensen from http://www.thekitchn.com/ , now I don’t have to go to a store to buy peanut butter. If I knew how simple and inexpensive it is to make peanut butter at home, I could’ve saved a few bucks on my grocery bill.

This formula can be used to make cashew butter, almond butter or any nut butter for that matter. It’s magical how the peanuts get pulverized and transform into this glossy paste, waiting to be spread over toast.

What you’ll need to make peanut butter:

  •          Blender/ food processor
  •          Rubber spatula
  •          2 cups of raw, blanched peanuts
  •          ½ tsp salt
  •          1-2 tbsp honey/sugar/demerera sugar (or nay sweetener of your choice)

Roast the peanuts in the oven at 180 C for 10 minutes. While the peanuts are still warm, add them to the blender and pulse them a few times. You will get a course mixture. Now, blend the peanuts for 1 minute in medium speed. Scrape down the sides using a rubber spatula. Blend again for a minute, in medium speed. Scrape down the sides, add salt and sugar now. Blend again for a minute, till you get a smooth, glossy paste.

Store in a closed container and refrigerate for several weeks.

Recipe courtesy:  http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-make-homemade-peanut-butter-cooking-lessons-from-the-kitchn-199110

image_5

 

Leave a comment

Filed under DIY Thursdays

Leave a Reply

