Blueberry Muffins

My professional life had put an abrupt end to many good things I diligently indulged in. You could argue that it is a pedestrian excuse most people give to mask their ineptness to remain systematic and it probably is, but I don’t know what it is about working that takes away simple comforts in life along with it. There was no question of working out because rising and shining early wasn’t an option, thanks to awfully late nights. My relatively long beauty baths became a 2 minute affair and my breakfasts summed up to coffee and a few years down the lane, the one thing I regretted among other things- not making time for breakfast, one of my favourite meals during the day.

When all else failed, there was one thing I stuck to with vengeance. It all began one day, when I somehow managed to wake up 15 minutes earlier than my usual waking up time. That meant 15 minutes additional time before I got to work. It wasn’t the greatest time to make breakfast, well for me it wasn’t, but it was enough to stop over at Barista close to office in Bangalore. So I ordered a cappuccino, my 2nd dose of coffee for the day along with a plump muffin that kept calling out to me with its blueberries glistening on top. With that began my long love affair with blueberry muffins; not the healthiest, I admit, but they made my days brighter.

PS: Call it coincidence, but when I moved back to Madras, I found work which had a Barista next door.

bb muffin 1

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup + 6  tbsp cake flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cream of tartar
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup fresh blueberries
  •  6 tbsp milk
  • 2 tbsp sour cream
  • 1/4 cup (56 g) unsalted butter
  • 1/3 cup caster sugar
  • 1 large egg, at room temperature

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 200 C. Butter and flour a 12-muffin pan. Set aside.
  • Sift flour, baking soda, cream of tartar and salt together. Set aside.
  • Add a tablespoon of the flour mixture to the blueberries and mix well. Set aside.
  • Combine milk and sour cream. Set aside.
  • Beat butter till soft using an electric hand whisk. Add the sugar. Beat until creamy.
  • Now, add the egg. Beat for a minute or 2.
  • Add half the flour mixture and half the milk to the wet ingredients. Combine slowly using a spatula. Don’t be frantic with your mixing.
  • Add the remaining half of both the flour and the milk mixtures. Combine until everything looks homogeneous. Plop the blueberries in and give a final stir.
  • Spoon the muffin batter into the muffin pan and bake in the preheated oven for about 15-18 minutes until brown and fluffy.

bb muffin 2

Adapted from Baking with Julia by Dorie Greenspan

Notes: If you can’t get fresh blueberries or find them too expensive, canned ones will do just fine. 1 cup of cake flour = 84 g all purpose flour + 15 g corn flour

Leave a comment

Filed under Muffins

Leave a Reply

