No-churn Rum and Raisin Ice Cream

Suddenly, from having tons of time to while away, I have become that person who says, ‘oh no, 24 hours in a day is not enough!.’ I have enrolled myself into a baking course at Sophia to transform my pet project into something bigger, something inspiring. My day starts at  6 in the morning (I try very hard to wake up that early…very hard), as I literally fall off trying to do more than 50 Surya Namaskars at yoga class. I go back home with my arms and legs wailing in pain. With cakes and pastries being made every other day in my kitchen, I figured some form of exercise is much needed. Pavan being the sweetheart he is has breakfast ready for me. He says he wants to be my nutritionist and so he’s been hired!

If you knew me even slightly well, you know how much of an ambler I am. In a busy commute like railway stations, Bombay dwellers really don’t have the time and patience to wait for people like me and rightfully so. So I get pushed and prodded, until I get angry and pick up my pace. Wary of my belongings (theft risk) and watchful over who is around me, I march my way to the spot where the first class ladies coupe arrives. I hop on to the train, find myself a spot and switch off. Halfway through, I unwrap my parathas and eat them. I love it. I love how these trains carry more than half of Bombay and get them to their destinations in no time. I love how punctual they are and more importantly I love being amongst co-passengers, who are in their own spaces, doing their own things, just like me. But that’s also because I have been lucky so far (touch wood). I’ve also heard horror stories from friends about travelling by trains, hopefully I won’t be subject to them.

I am on my feet for at least 2 hours in class, whisking away (electric mixers are condemned), taking turns with my partner, if the work is labourious. We finish our assigned dishes for the day, divide it among respective partners and bring it back home. I get to meet people like me, with a penchant for baking and similar aspirations, which is great! I come back home wanting to put my feet up and watch some TV. The next couple of hours are strictly no kitchen hours.

This has been my story and it probably explains why I haven’t been as regular with my posts as I used to be. To make up for the longish absence, I have a great recipe for you. Ice creams always pose a threat in our kitchens and many of us don’t make them for the lack of appropriate equipment. This one needs no ice cream maker and believe me when I say it is as creamy and as decadent as the one you might get from an ice cream maker. An aftermath of masterchef fever, I tried to plate up my ice cream. I smeared some salted caramel sauce on the plate, placed a little puff pastry circle over it and whacked a quenelle  of my no-churn rum and raisin ice cream on top. I don’t know how successful I was but I think it looks pretty amazing!

rum 2

 Ingredients

  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 50 g caster sugar
  • 150 ml double cream
  • 50 g raisins soaked in dark rum (2-3 hours)

Method

  • Whip your egg whites till it gets frothy. Gradually add the caster sugar and whip them to glossy, stiff peaks. Set aside.
  • Beat your egg yolks. Incorporate the rum and raisins. Set aside. Beat the cream into soft peaks. It helps if your bowl and whisks are refrigerated before you whisk the cream.
  • Add the egg yolks mixture to whipped cream. Add the cream to the egg whites gradually.
  • Transfer mixture to a box and throw it in the freezer for 4 hours before serving.

rum5

Adapted from Marry Berry’s No-churn Ice Cream

 

1 Comment

Filed under Ice creams

One response to “No-churn Rum and Raisin Ice Cream

  1. Hello Vijetha,
    The recipe looks yumm…must surely try it some time.

    Anisha Kuruvilla

Leave a Reply

